Shot down over Turks and Caicos- Beware of anti paparazzi jammers
726 9 2020-3-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pMBeUvIrTOrh
lvl.1
Canada

So I was flying someone else Mavic Mini in the Turks and Caicos ten days ago.  I have been flying various drones for a couple of years. My first day out with the drone went well and I found it very simple to use and fly. Got some shots of the real estate property I was there to photograph etc. The location of the property was ideal for kite boarders but on the other side of the island there was another beautiful beach that was better suited for photography with the models walking on the beach etc.  So we headed there and got the necessary still and video shots with the camera and then I flew the drone to see if I could get some nice walking along the beach shots from above.
I flew the drone up and around the water a few times and it was performing well. Then as I was setting up to do the walk shot with the models, I lost control of the drone completely . It was no more than 75 meters away from me and maybe 25 in the air. I tried everything beginning with the return to home, nothing worked, I got error messages reporting transmission problems and strong wind warnings, there was no wind....then it seemed to go into RTH mode and flew up to the 50 meter preset but still no control, it then took  off away from me at full speed flew over the water and people who saw it later told me it just dropped from the sky into the water. I assume it was held there until the battery died.