Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DrohneMann
lvl.4
Flight distance : 87415 ft
  • >>>
United States

Dear Fellow Drone Pilots,

I have been flying DJI drones for over five years and never have I ever seen a DJI drone rapidly lose altitude to the point where it goes for a drink. This is what happened in Heidelberg, Germany during a recent trip to Europe. I was flying getting some truly amazing shots of the castle and Old city of Heidelberg, which is truly an awesome city, using my DJI Mavic Mini. I want to add it had rained earlier but it was not raining, which had it been I would have discontinued immediately, during the flight and the sensors were all clear and I have flown just after the rain a bunch of times.  In regards to the flight, It was a pretty uneventful flight until just before I was going to bring it home and fly back to the home point. I was successful in bringing it back to just in front of me, but then It started doing its own thing. About 150 feet in front of me it started rapidly using altitude at a fast rate above the river and the next thing I know it goes "plop" straight into the Neckar river. At first, I attempted to put stick up but there was no response from the stick even though I had a full connection to the drone. So I let go of the sticks thinking it should hover but NO it descended straight into the fast-moving Neckar River. I want to be clear that I was 250 feet in the air on the flight back to avoid the water confusing the sensors. So the water scenario doesn't apply to this incident. Unfortunately, time was limited and due to the fast current and depth of the Neckar River retrieving it would be an impossible task. I would love to hear your opinion on this matter and if you had this happen to you. In hindsight, I should have attempted to stick up one more time, but it happened so fast that the time to correct was limited. All I know is that Mavic Mini is a beginner drone, as DJI markets it anyway, so this issue needs to be