Do you think DJI lets their costumers down with the Osmo Mobile 3?
1474 16 2020-5-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Bijstandboy
lvl.1

Netherlands

DJI makes great camera stabilisation hardware. They make drones with camera's for crying out loud. That’s the reason I bought the Osmo Mobile 3 gimbal to stabilize my smartphone while filming. The hardware is great, but the software is something else entirely. As it turns out, sadly, DJI delivers video recording software that’s nowhere near the quality you need for half decent video editing.

It’s not that I’m a big movie producer with high standards. Not at all, but I feel like I should be able to use this gimbal for my Youtube-channel. Do you guys/girls think I’m just asking too much? I just want to record some stabilised clear video and audio to edit later on. The app supplied with the Osmo Mobile 3 adjusts the video/audio too little and too much at the same time, but that’s not the main problem.

The bigger problem for me (and others) is that the Bluetooth connection between the gimbal and smartphone causes audio distortion making every footage unusable. I can fix it in post-production, but I’m on a clock. I don’t want to fix the same problem every day. It’s just too time consuming.

After almost a year, I don’t think there will come an update fixing this problem (and many others). In the end the Osmo Mobile 3 is just a price-fighter-product. This makes me think that no large percentage of the retail price is reserved for service and software developing. Do you think this too or do I just need more patience?