ADS-B Question & Answer From Local Airport Manager
663 10 2020-6-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Magicdroner
lvl.4
Flight distance : 101086 ft
United States

Hi. I sent the following e-mail to the manager of my local airport where most air traffic in my area originates from:
Hi. I first corresponded with you via e-mail probably about 8 months ago and also have talked with you on the phone. I am a UAV pilot who has a UAV drone which has ADS-B capability. Basically the drone detects any aircraft in its vicinity and alerts the pilot. Quite a safety feature depending on one thing. Can you tell me in your estimation what percentage of aircraft currently using the Yakima Air Terminal have transponders to broadcast their presence? I have really appreciated you taking your time to thoroughly answer questions posed by someone like me that really enjoys flying UAVs. Hope you are well and thanks again for all that you do. uP UP & AWAY…
Attached to this post is a screenshot of the airport manager's reply. I was surprised at the number of aircraft around here which can send out a signal. What do you think?

Airport Reply.JPG
2020-6-3
Use props
Northwood
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2148596 ft
Canada

Its interesting, also in Canada, its nearly non existent so far.  We have a 5 year mandate for all aircraft to install.  There is much controversy about who's footing the bill.
2020-6-3
Use props
Earle
lvl.1
Flight distance : 9354 ft
United States

It is my understanding the Mavic Air 2 is ADS-B IN only. The Mavic ADS-B IN alerts the DRONE pilot of aircraft that have ADS-B OUT and are nearby . Pilots in aircraft will not get any indication of nearby drones via ADS-B.
2020-6-3
Use props
Tentoes
First Officer
Flight distance : 6018255 ft
United States

Interesting. Thanks for the report. My local airport is likely about the same.
2020-6-3
Use props
MisterFrag
Second Officer
Flight distance : 603143 ft
United States