Return to Home just ascends but doesn't return
3663 30 2020-6-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
joelnisson
lvl.2
Flight distance : 376657 ft
United States

I am a rank beginner with my new Phantom 4 and unable to get the RTH function to work properly.
Here's what happens.
To play safe during these first flights, I set the following Controller settings as follows:
Return-to-Home Altitude - 20m
Max Flight Altitude - 50m
Max Flight Distance - 40m
I flew the drone out about 30m at an altitude of about 5m, then press Return to Home on the controller screen. The controller accepts the command and starts beeping. The drone then ascends rapidly to what is probably my RTH altitude of 20m, but then just hangs there. I waited a full couple of minutes, but the drone never came over the home landing spot or descend. I finally cancelled the RTH and manually flew it back.

I tried this several times with the same result.

I would appreciate any suggestions as to what I may be doing wrong or, whether there is possibly something wrong with my Phantom.
Thanks for any help.
--JN

2020-6-26
Use props
ALABAMA
First Officer
Flight distance : 10442687 ft
United States

You need to go further.  It has a limit to reach before it  can be activated.
2020-6-26
Use props
joelnisson
lvl.2
United States

Thanks for the prompt reply.
Can you give me some idea as to how far out the drone needs to be. I'm a bit nervous about letting it go to far if I can't confidently bring it home.
2020-6-26
Use props
ALABAMA
First Officer
United States

Can't remember exactly,  just give the manual a good read.
2020-6-26
Use props
HurleyBird Productions
First Officer
Flight distance : 549295 ft
  • >>>
United States

Check out page 16 of the manual for the RTH specs.

https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/ ... _User_Manual_EN.pdf
2020-6-26
Use props
joelnisson
lvl.2
United States