Struggling to capture videos
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Sparkflier
lvl.4
Flight distance : 194619 ft

United States

Hi. I am a very good photographer. I know a lot about photography and use my Spark to take awesome HDR photos. I am now getting started with videography. I know a lot of cinematic moves. There is one thing though that I struggle with. That is exposure. Unlike a picture, the exposure of a video is constantly variable. I have heard the bad rep about using auto exposure and I believe it. The problem is, is that now I have to change the iso by myself and the video ends up looking bad. I wish Dji put in shutter priority/auto iso, Gah. You can be using 1/60 and tilt the camera up and it will be overexposed. Then you turn it down and tilt the camera down and it is underexposed. What should I do? Should I find a neutral shutter speed and iso that will work with both the camera facing down and up? Help!
2020-7-6
Use props
fans03bf0071
lvl.2
Flight distance : 605748 ft
  • >>>
Canada

Use HDR mode and get ND filters. Use Smart Photo also. Adjust gimble head until Exposure is correct. I noticed having Gimble to high causes Exposure issues when using Auto.
2020-7-7
Use props
Sparkflier
lvl.4

United States

fans03bf0071 Posted at 7-7 11:59
Use HDR mode and get ND filters. Use Smart Photo also. Adjust gimble head until Exposure is correct. I noticed having Gimble to high causes Exposure issues when using Auto.

I don’t have HDR video. I own a Dji Spark.
2020-7-7
Use props
Sparkflier
lvl.4

United States

I think I basically found an idea. I should find a spot with neutral exposure and adjust it to match that. That way, the areas with a brighter or lower exposure won’t be over or underexposed so much.
2020-7-7
Use props
fans03bf0071
lvl.2
Flight distance : 605748 ft
  • >>>
Canada

Sparkflier Posted at 7-7 13:02
I don’t have HDR video. I own a Dji Spark.

ohh well that's why spark is not great with the video quality.
2020-7-9
Use props