Best format for video going to windows PC
740 8 2020-7-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Neptune99
lvl.1

United States

Hello all, newbie here with Mavic 2 zoom. Last drone was a Yunec Q500, nice old drone, but needed upgrade, and something that was easier to travel with.My first question here is what recording format is better suited for a Windows based PC, mov, or mp4. I read it somewhere before but can't remember. Also do I need to convert video file from drone SD card, or can it be played just as it was recorded on the card ? I am asking because I did have to convert files from the Q500, but from what I have been reading on here it looks that that is not necessary if I record in the correct format. Henst the question about mov, or mp4 format.  Also will be using VLC player.

Thank's for any help.

2020-7-12
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

The video file is exactly the same whether you use MP4 or MOV, it is only the 'container' holding the file that is different. The MOV format was a fop to Apple, because Apple thought it should have its own unique form of video file. But Windows, and most Win applications will handle either. Best to stay with MP4.

And no, you do not need to convert any file, VLC will play them without problems. However if you are using an older video editing app, you might be wise to steer clear of recording in H265.
2020-7-12
Use props
Neptune99
lvl.1

United States

Geebax Posted at 7-12 21:19
The video file is exactly the same whether you use MP4 or MOV, it is only the 'container' holding the file that is different. The MOV format was a fop to Apple, because Apple thought it should have its own unique form of video file. But Windows, and most Win applications will handle either. Best to stay with MP4.

And no, you do not need to convert any file, VLC will play them without problems. However if you are using an older video editing app, you might be wise to steer clear of recording in H265.