Need Input Regarding Taking off from Top of 20 story building.
1123 8 2015-6-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
gatorone30
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1145489 ft
United States

I am planning to take off from the top of a 20 story building for work. I have never done this before and wanted to get feed back regarding the setting for RTH and any other thoughts from pilots who do this alot. At start up will the Altitude read zero or will it read the real altidude that I am at roughly, 240ft AGL. The roof area is large so there is plenty of space if god forbid RTH is needed. There are no antenas or other hazards. I just want to make darn sure I set the RTH to the right height.

I also plan to have someone below to make sure the area is clear beneath where we are flying as a safety measure. To get the shot we need we will be out over the edge about 20- 30 feet.

Your input is greatly appreciated.
2015-6-19
Use props
GB44
Second Officer
Flight distance : 343848 ft
United Kingdom

In which country are you planing this operation.  If its UK you will need to complete a full risk assessment, which if in a built up area you may require it to be undertaken on a Sunday morning perhaps when least amount of persons are about and least amount of traffic in the streets below.  Also you may need more than one person on the ground and certainly will need two-way radios to keep in contact with Observer on the roof who will keep the Pilot informed.  Obviously you will I assume have your commercial CAA approval if in the UK.  Have you considered a specific flight path, orientation from the roof to ensure the aircraft does not go unnecessarily close to other buildings, so the aircraft whilst in the air is always within a specified segment of airspace; consideration of alternative landing site.  Lots to think about and dont forget to notify local ATC for consent especially at high altitude where helicopters could operate, probably best to give ATC specific time frames.