Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Minimum specs for smooth DJI 4k playback and editing?
3404 6 2020-7-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Magniko
lvl.1

Norway

Hi all, I have been using DJI products for almost 3 years now. I have made a few videos, but I have also incorporated recordings into my travel videos aswell.
However my main problem is that editing 4k footage with Premiere Pro can be kinda difficult without using proxies on my current PC, a Thinkpad T440P with a still very powerful i7 4710MQ processors that doesn't lag far behind even some of the latest laptop processors out there.

So I wonder what kind of specs one would need at the minimum to be able to play back the 4k DJI videos with ease in Premiere Pro? Could it have something to do with the fact that my CPU(or GPU 730M) does not have HEVC codecs?
Let me know what specs you have and if your PC can meet that requirement.
2020-7-26
Use props
A J
Captain
Flight distance : 13838848 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Try 4K30 in H.264
2020-7-27
Use props
AlansDronePics
Second Officer
Flight distance : 814751 ft
Guernsey

Check if your PC is overloaded to start with when running you normal editing session. Simultaneously press Ctrl Alt Del to take you to Task Manager.
In the Processes tab, watch the heading % for CPU, MEMORY, DISK and GPU. All these need to be in the low % and never close to 100%.
Things you might do. You need at least 8gb of memory. Memory is far more important than processor speed.
Work only from your hard drive. Nothing is faster. Ideally, you should defrag after deleting all files in the trash.
Exit all apps you can that aren't necessary for editing. The less the processor has to do, the more is available for editing.