Firmware update issue / trying to fix camera - Phantom 2
1839 3 2020-8-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
sturpyn
lvl.1

United States

I'm a newbie that's done tons of research, gone to two RC hobby stores for advice, and I'm still stumped, especially considering that DJI no longer supports this drone, and every link I can find goes to dead pages on their website.  I'm sorry for the long post, but I want to make sure I include everything I've done so I'm not missing anything or wasting your time.  
I recently got my first drone, a Phantom 2 Vision +, and my main problem is two-fold.  

1) It flies, but blindly since I have no live video to the cell phone app, which is "Litchi for P2".  Where the live video SHOULD be is just a totally black screen.
2) The left silver thumbwheel on the controller moves the drones camera straight down to the floor quickly, but in order to get it back to normal front facing, I have to "pop" the left dial over and over, moving it in small incriments.   Both hobby stores agree that the drone itself is probably not the problem, because when it boots up, the gimble has full control, and as you move the drone around (props off) with your hand, the gimble correctly moves to keep the camera still. I'm going to try to link a yuotube video that I just shot showing you what I mean.  They both told me to update the firmware, which I tried unsucessfully, and is what brings me here for help.

To update the firmware, I installed the "Phantom 2 Vision Assistant".   I tried multiple versions as I got stumped, but the current version is 3.8