Expectation of Privacy Laws
368 8 2020-8-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Swampgoat
lvl.1
United States

I'm new to drones and this is only my second post.  I own a MM and live in Florida.  I see from searching the forum that operators are sometimes accosted by citizens who appear anti-drone.  Most accounts report that after a explanation by the operator about how the drones work and how 'spying' is not the intent, the citizen is satisfied.
In addition to the Federal rules, Florida has its own statute against drone surveillence.  It basically says that you cannot view either people or their property with sufficient visual clarity with the intent to surveil.  

There is no way I want to spy on anyone.  But, if I were to fly my MM straight up from my backyard, I am bound to take in the other properties around me.  

I guess my general question to the drone community, especially if any are Florida residents, is this:  do you think it's better that to err on the side of caution and just not fly the drone around my house?  Or is it better to err on the side of reasonableness (after all, I can go out on my sidewalk and take photos of the entire street and the houses) and fly from my backyard around the nearby trees and lake?

Thanks

2020-8-28
Use props
Woe
Captain
Flight distance : 4129268 ft
  • >>>
United States

My suggestion is talk to your neighbors, show them the drone and answer
any questions they may have. Everything starts with education, the more informed
your neighbor are less stress you have.
2020-8-28
Use props
Tentoes
First Officer
Flight distance : 6018255 ft
United States

A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. Proverbs 15:1

Unfortunately, some won't let you give them a soft answer.
2020-8-28
Use props
A J
Captain
Flight distance : 13877205 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom