Hello, I'm a new Air 2 pilot
442 10 2020-8-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dangerly
lvl.4
United States

Hello,

I'm new here. As of today, I'm a happy new Air 2 owner and thought I'd introduce myself.

Exactly one week ago, the day started out so great. I took my trusty old Air (1) out to Fort Funston in San Francisco and was going to film some nice, low flying beach shots. I found a nice log to sit on about 30 feet from the water's edge, and sat down to set up. I got the RC set up, and put the Air down on the flat beach sand, and was ready to launch. When along came a rogue wave and soaked my Air! It did not recover, despite my best efforts to dry it, clean it, and then take it apart and reassemble. So the Air is now part of my growing museum of tech history, occupying a prized position next to my Apple Newton. I got many happy hours with it. Live and learn.

On to my brand, spanking new Air 2. Wow, this is quite an upgrade from the Air 1, and yet it seems so familiar. As an Air 2 newbie but an Air 1 old-timer, I thought I'd give my first impressions here for what it's worth. Things I noticed:
  • 4K 60fps. Wow. Yes. Need to get a new video codec but that's easy.
  • Fly vs Go 4. I'm still getting used to the differences, but so far I'm liking Fly. I especially like being able to drag the gimbal left/right as I'm flying.
  • Long battery life - really long battery life.
  • Thank you DJI for including some ND filters with the Fly more combo.
  • Can we talk about the bag? I love that both controller and drone now fit in the bag (unlike Air 1), but it doesn't really stay open well. Despite the Air 2 being bigger than the Air 1, when it's all packed up, the Air 2 takes less space in my backpack now. That's pretty cool.
  • It's so much quieter than the Air 1. I feel like I'm not annoying everyone around me now with my buzzy little bee.
  • I don't mind the larger controller. I like the integrated antenae and device on top instread of bottom.