Camera AWB needs to be improved
1305 8 2020-9-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ruhr
lvl.2

Germany

Dear DJI-Team,

im also a hobby photographer for more than 10 years now. The first thing i recognized is that the Auto-White-Balance - Feature in the Camera-Settings is completely useless. The Camera changes the color temperature several times during flight. In the first moment the Picture is warm and in the next moment, when there is more sky in the picture it turns cold and blue. Also if there are shadows and i fly through em, the camera immediately changes the AWB.

I guess for everyone who wants to have useful HD-Recording, which u offer to em with an advertised digital HD-Recording - feature, the AWB Mode is not helpful. It needs to be improved if u want it to be a useful feature.

I´ve seen so much videos, where people show their flights.. but the image looks soooo cold.

U get the best looking image if u adjust it manually an set it to 5.400 - 5.800 k, according to ur taste.

I post u 2 Screenshots from the same flight.. between these Screenshots were just 2,5 sec of flight, just turning around.

AWB flying forward

AWB flying forward

AWB after turning 180 degrees

AWB after turning 180 degrees
2020-9-5
Use props
A J
Captain
Flight distance : 13864580 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Thanks for sharing
2020-9-6
Use props
sleebus
lvl.1
United States

All AWB on any camera anywhere always sucks.  It's the first thing I turn off.  I shoot RAW if I can, if not I lock the white balance to one setting so I can fix it in post.  Pretty basic.
2020-9-7
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

This is common on all digital cameras,  just got manual and never look back.
2020-9-8
Use props
A J
Captain
Flight distance : 13864580 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

sleebus Posted at 9-7 07:42