ND Filters - Which ones Scratch the lens?
989 4 2020-11-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Tcow92
New

United Kingdom

Hey all,
I'm a newbie here so... thanks for having me and putting up with my basic questions. I have a DJI Pocket 2 getting delivered next week and I'm looking into getting some ND filters for it (ideally nd8,16,32,64). There have been a lot of reports of certain filters scratching lenses etc. Is this just because people aren't being really careful taking them on/off or do I really need to watch out for every brand other than PolarPro? For example i'd like to get the Neewer magnetic filter set but will these scratch up my screen? Should I be going for PolarPro standard filter pack instead because of the padded magnets?

Many thanks for all the help,
Theo
2020-11-15
Use props
Tide
First Officer
South Korea

I have Pocket 1 with a ton of scrath on its cover glass. So I'm might not the one to talk here.
Filters are all touching the cover glass with its magnet. It's ok by itself as the mounting magnet area is around edges and scratch there doesn't affect your image quality.

However, it's when you slips your finger and made your filter slide across the cover glass and leave a scratch in the center as you mentioned. That affect your image quality.

Every filter can do that and none is fail proof. (because when you slip, it's not the magnet that scratches the glass...) Tip is to get a filter with a better grip design, so your finger tip can better hold on to it even in the cold weather.

Any major name brand filters were like a like in terms of optics from my experience but...
Many neglected anti fog coating inside. (Although they have it outside) So some times they fog up. I heard Polar Pro has coating on both side but not sure.
2020-11-15
Use props
Interpol
lvl.3
Flight distance : 37201 ft
  • >>>
United States