Mimo bug? Pocket 2: getting an SD card space error when timelapsing
1455 9 2020-12-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
chasg
lvl.2

United Kingdom

Hi All, first post, though I've been reading here for over a year (good community here).
tl;dr: Using the Pocket 2, the Mimo app gives me an error stating too little room on my empty 128GB SD card when I want to shoot a fixed timelapse in raw+video.

So, I'm a timelapse photographer, and I bought the Pocket 2 specifically because it shoots raw photos in timelapse (I also have the original Osmo Pocket, which I only use for vlogging, as its jpeg timelapses aren't up to scratch).

But I'm getting a strange problem/error when I try to shoot timelapses with these specific parameters (what I'd consider a "typical" timelapse):
  • using the Mimo app
  • Pocket 2 set to shoot video+raw in timelapse mode
  • fixed angle (not a motionlapse)
  • any fixed interval and duration (e.g. 4sec interval, duration of 10 mins)

I get this error when I hit the Record button:

"Insufficient space in SD Card. It is recommended that you keep the timelapse duration less than 3min22s to prevent the timelapse video shooting from stopping".

(note: 3min22s is listed beside the SD card icon in the upper left of the Mimo app)

But there is tons of space: I'm using a legitimate 128GB Sandisk Extreme Pro card, freshly formatted in the Pocket 2. It'll fit thousands of DNG files, and a great deal of 1080p video.

To be specific, this error only happens when:
  • I'm using the Mimo app (via Do-It-All Handle wifi or when my phone is directly connected to a smartphone adaptor)
  • Timelapse Mode is set to "Fixed Angle"
  • any fixed duration (5mins to 5 hours)
  • any interval (4-secs to 60 secs)

The error does not happen when:
  • I use the Pocket 2 screen menu directly (not using the Mimo app)
  • Timelapse mode is set to any motionlapse: L to R, R to L, or Custom Motion (using Mimo)
  • I set the duration to "infinity" (using Mimo)