Panoramas with Mavic Mini
4003 15 2020-12-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Grumbleduke
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1824862 ft
United States

I have been going pretty deep down this particular rabbit hole in the last couple of weeks and thought I'd share a little of what I've been doing.

Saw some pretty cool evening/night-time panoramas and decided to have a go myself.  I've been taking photos for many years but I'm pretty new to drone photography and absolutely new to panoramas.

The 6 or so photos that went into this panorama were taken manually, using the DJI fly software and my Mavic mini (so .jpg only and no zoom or aperture adjustments possible.  ISO set to 100.)  I locked the exposure and took a series of photos, rotating the drone about 1/3 of the visible frame for each shot.  Did this for several exposures: 1, 2 and 4 seconds.  It was a calm evening and the drone made a remarkably steady platform for the long exposures.

Viewing the photos on a PC later, it became obvious that the 4 second exposures were all slightly blurred.  This may have been due to over-exposure, slight movements of the drone or my impatience and failure to allow the drone time to settle down between shots.  The 1 second exposures were too dark so I worked with the 2 second exposed photos.  I had swept the camera through about 270 degrees, taking ten photos but decided about 140-degrees covered the most interesting view.
Photos.jpg

Autostitch is freeware.  It's incredibly easy to use, will run from a memory stick or whatever folder it is unpacked to as it needs no complex installation.  There are a few options but they don't affect output quality much.  Just select the photos and it will stitch and blend them together, doing all the complicated stuff without input from the user.  This is what the output looks like, with a small amount of crop and gamma adjustment:
pano2.jpg