Residential / tall trees MM / M2
571 10 2020-12-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Donut
lvl.4
Flight distance : 42415 ft
United States

I'm still new to flying.  This fall I almost had a flyaway. I get a little paranoid when I loose sight if I look away and my right eye has a vision problem on dead center (scar dead center on retina.
I am paranoid because I've heard so many story's of signal loss. I live in a subdivision with tall oaks trees 100' so I'm worried about loosing signal. I have no intentions of trying for distance flying.
So I'm wondering if I should go to the mini 2 because of the ocu synk 2.0.
Right now I have the MM but don't k ow if I should go to the Mini 2.
I would keep the MM just for local close flying.
So would I be better off with the mini 2.
How far distance wise would I get with the mini 2. It's not really heavy on trees but there are homes .
2020-12-25
Use props
K6CCC
Second Officer
Flight distance : 651683 ft
United States

Learn to trust loss of signal induced RTH.  It's almost rare for me to fly around my neighborhood without losing signal due to Wifi.  That's just the reality of flying in a fairly dense residential area.  Make sure you have a RTH altitude that is high enough to get over the nearby objects (trees, power lines, etc) and watch out for high winds so if the drone climbs it does not get into winds that it can't handle.  Around home, my RTH altitude is normally 125 feet, which is about twice as high as it needs to be.  However I am frequently flying higher than that to keep noise down (if no one knows I'm there, so much the better).  Normally if I lose signal and my Mini initiates a RTH, I get the signal back before it gets overhead.  Then cancel the RTH and continue whatever flying I had planned.  BTW, get in the habit of using the RTH cancel button on the remote rather than one one on screen.  That way, if the phone app locks up, your habit will be to use the remote which should still be working.
2020-12-25