Terrible compression artifacts
4960 5 2020-12-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Nezil
lvl.1

United States

Hi everyone, this is my first post, with my first drone, purchased over Black Friday (no significant discounts unfortunately), and I've been enjoying learning to fly it.

I opted for a Mavic Air 2 becuase I was attracted to the better camera on the Air 2 over the Mini 2. Having said that, I've been quite disappointed with the camera output since buying the drone, and I'm starting to wonder if I have a faulty unit.

I'm certainly no cinematographer, but I am a video engineer professionally, working with a focus on display and image accuracy. I do a lot of work with Hollywood, and am quite familiar with manual settings on cameras, and know to achieve a ~180 degree shutter angle I should be aiming to set the shutter speed to 1/50 for 24p, 1/60 for 30p and 1/120 for 60p captures.

I have tried capturing video in Normal and D-Cinelike as well as H.264 and H.265 and found serious compression artifacts with all combinations of settings.

I typically use DaVinci Resolve to edit and grade content. Here is an example of some content with slightly less compression artifacts that I captured just before Christmas:

I had to apply some pretty heavy noise reduction to achieve an OK result with that content, and this was captured in Normal mode H.265. It looks OK in a window on YouTube, but I'm not that impressed when viewing it at UHD resolution full screen on a monitor or TV.

What I'm noticing, is that when there is motion, the compression artifacts might be somewhat obscured. It's when the drone is still, than any surface with texture on it, pulsates at what I assume is the same rate as the GOP structure because it's about once / second. I'm also noticing coloured blocks of noise which look like they're YCbCr errors becuase they flicker between green and magenta, which is typical of a slight offset of Cb / Cr around neutral.