Another Mavic 2 Pro Crash
415 5 2021-1-4
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Tim Gn
lvl.2
United States

Go ahead and add me to the list.  I have been in aviation for well over 30 years and worked with gyros, IRU, INS, GPS, altimetry, radar altimeters and barometers BUT I am new to drones.  I finally got comfortable with my Mavic 2 Pro and took it last week to National Forest in Tennessee to do some videography and photography.  I went through my checklist and the only thing unusual was I had to align the drone compass.  Once that was complete I took off and switched to tripod mode.  I captured some nice video of a mountain stream adjacent to the road and had no issues going up the hillside and back down to the road.  Once at the road I flew the drone down the road about 40 yds then moved it out over the river and began flying up the river doing video at an altitude of about 7 feet agl.  The drone was now only about 20 yds from me I would guess and flying wonderfully.  I glanced down at my smart controller to adjust the camera and then things happened fast.  All I really can remember was I received a "drone disconnect" red message and when I looked back at the drone it was sinking in the fast moving stream.  I searched for about 3 hours but with the depth and speed of the river the drone was not recovered.
I have reported this to support today and provided them with all of the details and logs.

Since then I have looked all over and found that these drones seem to have an issue with flying over water (at least for some people).  I have watched tons of videos of people doing test with some saying turn off the optical etc and others saying not to.  I also see where the manual says to do that but unfortunately, I did not have it off.