Shooting Video in 4k 24FPS vs 30FPS? 1/50 and 1/60 vs Auto?
3535 6 2021-1-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ExtraGloves
lvl.2
Flight distance : 19537 ft
United States

Just curious what most of you guys have been shooting in for the best results.  I started shooting in 4k 30fps in auto mode and then 24fps auto, but now I'm seeing I should be shooting in 24fps 1/50 or in 30fps 1/60.  Haven't tested these out but wouldn't 30fps work better since it's exactly half of 1/60 according to the golden rule?
Do ND filters make shooting in these settings easier?

Also, will this help my issue of blur when slowing rotating the drone during a shot?

This is my first experience when it comes to shooting video and video editing (previously only have done a tone of photo) so just want to be doing it correctly.

Thanks!

2021-1-8
Use props
Skatin_Tater
lvl.4
Flight distance : 433173 ft
  • >>>
United States

I usually go with 2.7K @ 60 fps when moving. If it's a really slow movement or pan, 4k @ 30 fps. I don't use ND filters, so I can't speak to that part of the question.
2021-1-8
Use props
ExtraGloves
lvl.2
Flight distance : 19537 ft
United States

Arpettaz Posted at 1-8 13:48
In my opinion, the 180 rule (motion blur) you are referring to only really comes into its own with motion/action shots, like with an action camera. Unless you are going to ignore the drone rules, most people won’t be using their Mini 2 for close action shots and so for me motion blur is irrelevant for a drone. I also only use ND filters for photo shoots with a hand held camera, and normally use the highest shutter speed I can for drone video commensurate with the light conditions @ 4k 30 fps. I also don’t understand why anyone would significantly reduce the amount of light getting into the Mini 2 by using an ND filter if your shutter speed is only 1/60