Anyone test flying the Mini 2 while sitting in your car?
6141 28 2021-2-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ExtraGloves
lvl.2
Flight distance : 19537 ft
United States

I'm sure this is frowned upon and not the best practice, but it's winter and where I live in the suburbs it's hard to find a spot to get outside esp if there is snow on the ground.  I'm still a novice and the farthest I've let my Mini 2 travel is maybe 300ft high and 500 feet away.  Not trying to fly 2 miles from where I'm standing yet.

Anyways I was curious if people have gotten lazy and just flown from sitting inside their car.  Would it have a huge effect on the reception?  Would having the car on vs off do anything?  I kind of just want to drive to a few spots in my hometown and not be standing in the middle of a park with dogs and people running around wondering what I'm doing.

Not the biggest deal in the world but I think it would just be cool to try.  Honestly, I would love to just take off from my sunroof haha.  

What are your thoughts?

Thanks.
2021-2-8
Use props
videoeditman
lvl.4
Flight distance : 6713271 ft
United States

There have been compass errors and Yaw errors, which some say is from starting to close to some metal object. So probably a little risky!
2021-2-8
Use props
jonny007
lvl.4
Germany

I did it once when it was cold. Had no problems. I would recommend walking a few meters away from the car, starting and then getting into the car. Or you have a passenger and fly the drone from the back seat, as in the video in these thread https://forum.dji.com/forum.php? ... eid%26typeid%3D712% 26typeid% 3D712  ;-)
2021-2-8
Use props
New2Mini2
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3895528 ft
Canada