Motor Failure and Crash
6836 33 2021-2-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dwillis
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1613642 ft
United States

I'm posting this here so I can link to it from the service request form.

After a normal takeoff, the MA2 had been flying for a couple minutes, low and slow, when it gave me a warning that said "Motor error. Check propellers and fly with caution (Code: 120652)". I'm new to the MA2 but I've got about 50h of air time with an MA1 and I'm used to seeing similar-sounding warnings which have never been a safety concern or had an impact on the mission. I double-checked everything, saw no issues, and cautiously continued my flight. About a minute later I got the error again and a few seconds after that I got another warning: "Not Enough Force/ESC Error. Aircraft max power load reached. Decrease altitude and fly with caution. If this issue persists, land immediately (Code: 30168)." I was in the process of a slow ascent, getting a shot, and decided I would heed the warning, fly with caution while I finished my shot, and then bring it back and land.

I never got the chance. Suddenly, the camera goes crazy and the drone begins making some very distressing noises. I look up and it's plummeting out of the sky; not exactly in free-fall but flailing wildly and very far from anything that could be considered controlled flight. It bounced off the roof of my house and landed in the snow.