Should I Buy DJI FPV if I have no prior experience?
958 6 2021-3-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ManOfSand
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1736883 ft
  • >>>
United States

Should I buy the DJI FPV if I have no prior experience? From what I have seen in the promo video, it seems more user-friendly than other FPV drones, with modes that gradually ease on the controls as you learn.

2021-3-11
Use props
Exib
lvl.4
Flight distance : 153760 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Yes just leave it in "N" mode to get you started
2021-3-11
Use props
John-_-D
lvl.2
Flight distance : 10 ft
United States

I'm in the same position, and just received my DJI FPV Combo yesterday. My only experience was with a tiny no-camera 3" quad which I flew around inside my house for a few days.

There are a lot of rough edges -- most of which could be solved with a little user-focused technical writing! -- but this is the first time I really felt FPV was approachable for me.

With a single purchase, you get the drone, controller and goggles, and everything you need for a flight, no soldering required. You get a flight simulator you can drive with the goggles and your controller, so you can get comfortable before you put all that money in the air. You get flight modes that are really beginner-friendly, and guard rails to keep you from accidentally turning on Manual mode before you're ready; even in Manual mode the "oh crap hover hover HOVER FOR ME" button still works.

The goggles really make this experience entirely different from piloting something on a phone screen. You feel like you are really flying. I'd enjoyed it on PSVR (VR headset for PlayStation), but of course I was only looking at a virtual world. With FPV, you are exploring the world you really live in.