My Opinion on the DJI FPV Drone
3140 6 2021-3-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DroneTechnoGeek
lvl.1

United States

My Opinion on the DJI FPV Drone

I have no experience in flying quads. My closest experience with drones is flying the Mavic Air 2 and, more recently, the Mini 2. I was, of course, interested in the DJI FPV Drone as a natural evolution to the flying hobby and I bought it as soon as DJI launched it.

From the leaks up until now, there has been a lot of hate being thrown at this product, almost all of it from the hardcore FPV community. They say things that this is not a true FPV quad, that it’s going to break easily, that it can’t do acro as well as traditional FPV drones, that this will be a dud.

I concur with most of these trains of thought, but I would have to say that these are misguided.

FPV stands for First Person View, which means that you are seeing what the “drone” is seeing and nothing else. There’s not a lot of difference between looking through goggles and through your phone or Smart Controller except that, in FPV, the drone’s view is ALL that you see. The DJI FPV Drone is a check on that front.

Regarding durability, I firmly believe that any type of electronics are not meant to be crashed, and I don’t care if other drones are made of titanium or carbon fiber. Crash it often enough and hard enough, and it WILL break. Sure, the DJI FPV Drone is less durable than one made out of carbon fiber. So what’s the solution? Don’t crash it.

This product is not meant for close-quarters flying (although it can fly close to the ground or go through tight obstacles, at your own risk). This drone is meant for cinematic flying, for diving across mountain slopes, to capture epic footage of extreme sports activities, and to capture unique angles that a traditional cinematic drone cannot do.