Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Mapping mission without photos and with free gimbal?
3803 16 2021-3-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
heistema
lvl.1

Germany

Hi there,

I just bought a Mavic 2 Enterprise DUAL and a SmartController so I am using DJI Pilot and I am a newbie ;-). I am planning to use it to rescue roe deer fawns from the mower.

So far I have drawn some polygons onto some meadows using Google Earth Pro and exported them as *.kml files. I got them succesfully imported into Mission Flight using Mapping mode. I set my overlapping settings, angle, etc. and get a perfect grid (for my purposes) over the meadow. Also the flight works perfectly.

But I am struggling with two problems:
  • It would be awesome if I can stop the drone somehow from taking pictures
  • And I really would need to rotate my gimbal (cameras) freely

Somehow I only can move the camera up and down and NOT left and right and also the camera then automatically positions itself slowly back in a face down position (again).

Is there any possibility to achieve this? Or is my mission planning flawed (Google Earth, kml, Mapping mode, ...)?

Thanks for your help in advance
2021-3-22
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Hopefully this might help -
2021-3-23
Use props
heistema
lvl.1

Germany

Thanks for your reply :-)

So a waypoint mission seems to allow me to move the gimbal "manually" but a mapping mission does not. I mean of course this makes sense, but the mapping mode without photos and a free gimbal (e.g. by introducing a new photo mode as an alternative to "Timed Interval") would be the perfect tool for such rescue missions.

Is there a way to request a feature? I mean basically this even would be a removal of features (if a certain mode or option is active)?
2021-3-27
Use props
djiuser_NQbKIFMQjFW5
lvl.2
Flight distance : 348251 ft
Netherlands

heistema Posted at 3-27 07:32