Mini 2: 2.4, 5.8 or Dual band?
17380 16 2021-5-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dr Vallo
lvl.1
Flight distance : 59167 ft
Italy

Hello everyone, I apologize for the trivial question, but I am a new aspiring drone pilot, and I would like to understand which is the best option.
I have a new DJI Mini 2 European version, and today I did some flight tests with the drone.
I noticed that trying to change frequency (with channel choice set to Auto), my drone starts to lose signal already after a few meters (about 200 / 300m), while I have seen some videos on the net that some users manage to fly the own Mini 2 for about 2 / 3 Km before the drone starts losing signal.
At this point I started wondering if I am actually choosing the right type of frequency.
Can you tell me which is the best option? Is dual band better than choosing a single frequency? Is 2.4 Ghz better than 5.8Ghz if I fly in the open field?
Is choosing the auto channel option a right choice?

I accept any advice from you on how I can improve my settings to fly my Mini 2 as far as possible without immediately losing the signal.

Thank you!
2021-5-23
Use props
Miguel Leitao
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1977067 ft
Portugal

First you need to understand that your drone can operate in two modes: FCC mode ( used in USA and CANADA) and CE mode (rest of the world).
Since you are in Italy you will have de CE version. The problem is CE version as a much more reduced range than FCC.
The majority of videos you see on youtube regarding long range flights with DJI drones are made in FCC mode.As for 2.4ghz vs 5ghz i will leave that setting on Auto since the drone is allways scaning for the best signal possible.
2021-5-23
Use props
Dr Vallo
lvl.1
Italy

Yes, I knew of the two versions, and I am also aware that even buying a drone with FCC mode, the "power" would be immediately decreased automatically as soon as the GPS sees that the drone is for example in Europe.