Matrice 300 vs Matrice 600 for Oil and Gas
1524 1 2021-5-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Wandering Pilot
lvl.1
Flight distance : 950873 ft
United States

Looking to augment my cousins pipeline inspection business. Any insight on what platform is best to invest in? I can see the DJI stated capabilities, just looking for some user experience. Are you happy with the Matrice 300? Issues, if any?
Thanks!
S
2021-5-29
Use props
fans5b25584c
Second Officer
Flight distance : 24012 ft
United States

I purchased an M300RTK with a P1 to do environmental surveys, primarily bird colony nesting islands, coming up from various Phantoms

All I can say is that the M300RTK has been an extremely repeatable platform.

Whatever it does, it does it exactly the same way every time. No drama, no worries, no missed images.

After coming from Phantom 3 Pros with "effective" battery capacity in the 12 to 15 minute range, although I'm still learning, this thing is still happy with 45 minute flights.

I have yet to find out how far the control or video signals go, because I've never had the slightest glitch or come off the signal pegs at our ranges of up to 2000 meters.

I have completed mapping missions with clear photos in up to 35mph winds. The wind was blowing from the side, so it was heeled over at 30 degrees or more, with gusts, but the line of images mapped perfectly straight and stitched perfectly.

The DJI Pilot software is powerful and very easy to use. It's so easy that I now don't fear going out to a location I haven't studied online before, whipping up a quick mission, flying it (flawlessly, as always), then leaving with high confidence I won't need to come back.

The images from the 43 megapixel P1 are phenomenal compared to anything from any previous version of Phantoms. We're now counting eggs when we used to be guessing at nests.