1628 8 2021-6-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MTengineer
lvl.2
Flight distance : 10502070 ft
United States

Hi there,
I'm flying a Mavic 2 Pro and Zoom off of a moving vessel and more and more often the drone will not let me launch. It gives me an error saying "Navigation System Error" and when I go to the IMU page rather than Healthy, Unhealthy, etc it just shows "Moving" for all parameters and it won't let me take off. I calibrated my IMU on land but we are sailing all over the world often for weeks at a time without access to land so if it gets in this state I often don't have land nearby to do an IMU calibration.

I've been flying for 6 years with multiple variations of DJI hardware and would consider myself an advanced pilot. Only with the most recent Mavic 2 Pro and Zoom models have I had constant issues. I am doing hand launches and retrievals as it's required if I want to get any of the incredible footage of us under sail. The new Mavic 2 models seem to be too smart for their own good and I've missed out on numerous shots because the damn thing won't let me get into the air. The only way to trick it that I've discovered thus far is to hold onto the drone while inside the boat which forces it into No Position ATTI mode. I then "launch" the drone while still holding on tight (blades spinning) as it tries to fly out of my fingers, walk outside, and let it go off the back of the boat. I'm comfortable launching and landing in sketchy situations but this pushes my limits and I feel like there has to be a better way.

I tried the "hack" of forcing the drone into ATTI mode but unfortunately this ATTI mode isn't the same as the "No Position ATTI Mode" as it still won't allow takeoff because it sees the Moving IMU state. Are there any workarounds out there? I can't be the only mariner who is running into this, surely?

Lars
2021-6-29
Use props
GaryDoug
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1264639 ft
  • >>>
United States