Osmo Action playback on old pc with VLC player
3229 7 2021-7-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_v1HUqF2iFsrg
lvl.1

Belgium

Hi,
It's been a week since I have my Osmo Action.
I wasn't impressed... Stutter, jitter, artifacts on top of the screen while playing on my pc.
I'ts a 5 jear old pc with 16 Gb ram but it works ok.
One week of testing all kinds of Fps-Shutter-Resolution combos. All Meh...
At first I didn't know any better. thought those Youtube revieuwers cheated and enhanced their vids in post or whatever (yes, I'm new at this )
I edited the footage, changed codex, updated (reinstalled) VLC player, AMD grafics card drivers, windows
Watched like 86 youtube vids...
Nothing helped.
It's not just VLC, Other media players gave me the same problem, like the vsdc video editor, and windows cinema player.
Today I put a video on a loop to study the problem...
Some issues got worse as the clip kept looping.
I realized this had nothing to do with my camera so I put some files on a USB and tried it on my son's laptop.
It looked great ! really smooth.
4 hours later I found out that (most) of the stutter and all the artifacts go away if I turned off Hardware Acceleration in VLC player options.
Thats great but it raises some questions...
I can play hundreds of movies and clips from my media collection without any problems.
The only files that look bad are the Osmo's mp4. (1080 and 2,7 resolution - pc can't handle 4k)
And why does the problem remain even if i've re-rendered them to avi or mpeg ?

Is there something special I should now about this codex?
I'd buy a new PC but then what. If I can't use hardware acceleration...it's kind of useless so...

Question : Any good Grafics card you recommend that does,'t have this problem?
I was thinking of buying an RTX 3060. Does anyone here use this card in combination with Osmo?

Anyway, thanks for reading.

2021-7-11
Use props
Fishycomics
Second Officer
United States

As you learn your cam: