Smudgy Footage ( Mavic Pro )
920 21 2021-7-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JacobB84
lvl.1

United States

Ok, I've been dealing with this for a bit now, and it's drivin me nuts. Im new to the drone game.....so forgive any ignorance. Can someone help me understand why Im getting smudgy blurry images?

I focused the image. I've got focus peaking on, so I can see redlines where things should be sharp.
I've got it set to 100 ISO, 1/50th shutter speed.....and a 32ND filter on.Shooting 4096x2160, 24fps

This is raw right out of the camera. Believe its set to D-Cinelike.
Style is set to Sharpness -1, Contrast -1, Saturation 0.

Check out the trees specifically in the image....But in general, it looks like it's applied a Photoshop filter.
WTH is goin on? I can't seem to clean up the image.

SmudgyFootage.jpg
SmudgyFootage2.jpg
2021-7-23
Use props
GaryDoug
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1264639 ft
  • >>>
United States

No expert here, but I would try without the ND filter.
2021-7-23
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

It's hard to tell since we can't see what you are seeing.
You've posteded some reduced size images.
One was 1693 x 804 and the other was 1941 x 1181
2021-7-23
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

1/50th of a second is a bit slow for something thats moving like a drone,   try to get that up to at least 150th of second.
2021-7-24
Use props
JacobB84
lvl.1

United States

Ok, I'll try the suggestions you guys have made so far.
I went with 1/50th of a second, mainly because thats the "ideal" for motion blur etc. But maybe it doesn't matter so much for drone footage?
2021-7-24
Use props
JacobB84
lvl.1

United States

Labroides Posted at 7-23 19:00
It's hard to tell since we can't see what you are seeing.
You've posteded some reduced size images.

This was a screenshot from the footage at 100% scale.
2021-7-24
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
  • >>>