1148 2 2021-8-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
wannabewindsurf
lvl.1
Flight distance : 1613465 ft
Switzerland

Hi Forum,
I'm looking for some advice on how to deal with some issues with my Mini 2. I've been flying it for a few months now (I am on a care refresh replacement after an incident with a tree) and lately I've been experiencing the black screen/app restart issue on almost every flight. While this is annoying it's not the end of the world as once the app restarts you can continue what you are doing. It is a pain if you were just about to shoot a photo when it goes blank and then your subject has moved out of frame by the time the app restarts.

However, yesterday when flying my drone completely lost connection with my drone. No matter what I tried to do I could not get access again. I tried everything, restarting the app, restarting the remote and ultimately gave up thinking I had lost my drone. After one of the restarts suddenly the remote started beeping and the drone reconnected as it was doing a critical battery return to home. Luckily I got my drone back, but I feel pretty lucky that it worked out this time and would like to avoid this happening again.

I was flying from the top of a cliff on the edge of a wood overlooking a lake and had a direct line of sight to the drone over the lake. The drone was about 500m from me when it lost connection and flying at about the same altitude as its launch height so about 15 to 20m over the water. The black screen happened first, but when it came back there was zero connection to the drone. All attempts to reconnect failed and I actually had accepted the drone was lost when it reconnected as it got close enough on the return to home.

Any ideas why the lost connection might have happened and how I can avoid this happening in the future?
2021-8-9
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team