I am new, and I have a lot of questions.
3820 4 2014-9-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
zenism
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1820971 ft
Vietnam

Hi,

I am new to drone photography. I am a photographer and I am going to use the DJI S900 to fly my Nikon D810 for fashion shots. I've already know that I need a plantform to fly the system and a gimbal to mount my camera, however, I am still confused about Flight Controller, Ground Station and HD video downlink. What does each of them do and do I need them for my setup?

Also, I do not see any gimbal specifically for Nikon DSLR, which gimbal do I need to buy in order to mount my D810? In addition, do DJI provide a solution for the photographer on the ground to see Live View screen of the DSLR on the air?

Thank you in advance.
2014-9-21
Use props
chrisgeigerphot
lvl.4
Flight distance : 13046529 ft
  • >>>
United States

Flying is just as difficult as photography. Anyone can take a photo but it takes a professional to take good photos on a consistent basis. I know because I am a full time wedding photographer. The same is true of flying. Any one and fly and crash their aircraft. It takes many hours of practice and learning to fly well. You will crash your aircraft while you are learning to fly, everyone does. That is way you start with something that is inexpensive. Expect to build up at least 50 hours of actual air flight time before you step up to something of the size of the S900.

The DJI Lightbridge system is able to both control the aircraft and provide an HD video downlink.

You need to start with a small platform like the Phantom Vision. use this to learn how to fly and work with this platform. You really need to put a lot of time into your flying to get good at it.