List of Issues with P1 and L1 on M300RTK
11401 30 2021-10-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JesseG
lvl.2
Flight distance : 19941 ft

United States

My company recently purchased an M300RTK system complete with the L1 and P1 payloads and the D-RTK 2 base station. I am a land surveyor and I have been performing photogrammetry with DJI systems (phantoms and inspires) for over 5 years with great results and have over 20 years of photography experience. I was very excited to get my hands on the P1 and to start utilizing LiDAR with the L1 but have encountered some severe issues with the implementation of these 2 systems as well as the flight controller DJI PILOT and am hoping that bringing these to the forum will get DJI to take note and make some changes with future firmware updates. If you share any of these opinions, please share your thoughts here so they know I am not alone in my thinking! I'll list my concerns below by the payload with an explanation/description below each numbered point.

Zenmuse L1
1. IMU Calibration is not available during a Terrain Following mission.
I am based in western Washington State, USA and the terrain here is never flat. Terrain following is an absolute necessity for nearly every project we have to ensure proper coverage and overlap is achieved. DJI states that an IMU calibration should be performed every 1000m or 100 seconds of flight to ensure the best results but it is not possible during terrain following missions. This means I perform the calibration before the flight plan and after but there is no option to pause the mission and perform a calibration again during a mission covering a large area. There should be an option to enable IMU calibration during the terrain following mode even if it is something that requires a manual pause of the mission and calibration with a resume option after.

2. Terrain following is not available during a Corridor Mapping mission.