897 19 2021-11-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dnddad324
Second Officer
Flight distance : 12536706 ft
United States

Drone noob here....

My very first drone was a cheap toy drone that ended up lost in the woods. It was less than $30 so no big loss.

My second drone was a not so cheap drone that advertised well and even had good reviews but after returning the first one....losing the second....and finally returning the third one, I realized that I was dealing with unreliable brand.

After doing lots and lots of research, as a noob on a limited budget, the DJI Mini 2 seems to be the best choice....

....until looking in to the DJI Fly app.

From what I can see, I will need to spend several hundred dollars on a phone that supports the DJI Fly app....add that to the cost of the DJI Mini 2 (looking at the Fly More package) and the money tree is starting to look very bare. FTR....Android user here and definitely not looking to switch to Apple.

Also, the fact that it is not available on Google Play and that you have to shut down security for apps not supported on Google Play has me very leery. I've scanned the forums and found multiple 'reasons' why it's not on Google Play but I've yet to find anything official from DJI themselves.

I really don't want to have to spend $500+ on a phone and $600 for the Mini 2 Fly More...that makes it an investment that far exceeds the 'entry level/beginner' drone label.

Am I missing something? I really would love to purchase the Mini 2 as it seems the best on the market according to my research. But the whole app/phone thing is making me want to continue my research. Any help from the community would be great.
2021-11-7
Use props
Mobilehomer
First Officer
Flight distance : 18135846 ft
United States

Don't worry about the app. It is good. You can find very capable devices in the $100 range if you look. Woot and EBay are good places to look.
2021-11-7
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>