Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Moving from Mode 2 to Mode 3 is HARD!
632 2 2021-12-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Nicodema
lvl.4
Flight distance : 90259 ft
United Kingdom

So yeah, let me start with a story. Sorry for a long post.
I've been flying quads and hexas since 2007, building and flying units with MikroKopter then Naza-M. After that I got a Phantom 2 followed by an "OG" Mavic Pro. I've flown all of these in Mode 2 partly because it's the default and Mode 1 only made sense if you started flying gliders on single axis Tx's back in the absolute day. It never occured to me to try Mode 3.

Cut to recent months. I'm making preparations for a building project and I'm hoping to document it with aerial footage and photography. Having not flown for a year or two I thought I'd put some stick time in both in real flights with the Mavic and also in the DJI sim. I also picked up a copy of Velocidrone and have been using a Futaba InterLink Elite USB Tx with that. All have been Mode 2.

Thing is, I also play a fair amount of video games, mostly on XBox One and PS5 controllers and it occured to me the other night that the standard control scheme for FPS games is Mode 3! Particularly when you think of Mode 3 for GPS stabilised camera drones like the Mavic, the left stick is up/down left/right and the right stick controls yaw. That's the same as a FPS game, where the left stick controls movement relative to the camera direction, while the right stick controls the camera.

So I fired up DJI Flight Sim and selected Mode 3. The difference in controllability for me was startling. Since I wasn't fighting my FPS muscle memory it was much more intuitive. I had been finding in Mode 2 that sometimes I would occasionally start an orbit manoeuvre and momentarily mix up the sticks, so I had suspected I was fighting some other mapping.