1268 15 2021-12-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Charles Adams
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3821312 ft
  • >>>
United States

I'm very new to the concept of color grading video, and have some "newb" questions I hope that peers here can answer.

I have the LUT from DJI for the D-LOG videos off the M3.  I've done some limited experimentation in Premier, and DJI's LUT seems to do the job well.  But there's lots that I don't know.

Should we ONLY use DJI's LUT for color grading the D-LOG videos (because it's optimized for the job)?  Or can we use other LUTs?  I've seen a lot of free LUTs and a lot of LUTs one can purchase.  It looks like there are LUTs for specific moods, jobs, tasks and goals.  If in fact there are good reasons to have a large library of LUTs, are there any recommendations for LUTs to use (free or commercial)?
2021-12-31
Use props
The Saint
Second Officer
Flight distance : 5902228 ft
  • >>>
United States

you can use any luts you want but as a "newb" my opinion is you should learn and practice color grading and color correction techniques mostly on your own so you can try to understand and master it.  maybe the lut can get your started but i haven't found any lut which can be called "excellent."  (have not seen or used the m3 lut).  to be clear, i've never seriously engaged in the whole lut environment with making them, trading them, buying and selling them, etc.  there are at least several dozen already in dv and i'm sure they have their legitimate uses.
2021-12-31
Use props
DarthSLR
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1846716 ft
  • >>>
United States

I understand you're using Premiere, but I believe the lesson on color grading from DR17 Beginner's Training will help with understanding and improving.
I agree with Saint, LUT alone would not cook your dinner, it would just "get" you there.
Consider LUT being a base camp. You'd still need to climb to the summit on your own.
2021-12-31
Use props
TonyPHX
Core User of DJI