Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
DJI L1 IMU Calibration question
6079 20 2022-1-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Panph
lvl.4
Flight distance : 5322589 ft
  • >>>
Italy

Hi to everyone,
I'm an experienced pilot and surveyor but new to Enterprise product, in specific  Matrice 300 + P1 + L1 for surveying.
I've been making photogrammetry for last 6 years, so using P1 with right sorftwares is not a problem, but surveying with L1 (my first lidar solution) it's a whole new world.
I've followed a course and lot of tutorials and workflow videos about L1, I've just made 2 works with it with great results. Now that i'm studying deeply the L1 and all it's settings and funcionality, i have few question, specially on IMU Calibration during flight.

-In a flat (or nearly flat) area, i use a Mapping mission with IMU Calibration turned ON, so, as i've understand, the imu calibrates at every turn in flight path.
But i live in North of Italy, where nothing is flat, so i need to use for almost every survey the Terrain Following funcion, that disable the automatic IMU Calibration (at least with actual firmware version).
For every flight, i manually calibrate the imu at the beginning and when finishing the flight, but what during the mission? The frequent stops (or deceleration and then acceleration) due to height changes in flight path could calibrate the imu during flight? do i have to stop the mission every 100sec, make a calibration and then restart?