Cannot refit gimbal cover
580 9 2022-1-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Smurfy
lvl.1

New Zealand

Hi all,

I'm a newbie (both to drone use and my first Mavic Air 2).
After familiarisation with the equipment, I find it impossible to refit the gimbal cover onto the gimbal for storeage.
It clips in to the front of the Air 2, and I centre the gimbal with the camera facing forwards, but the back appears to have no way of attaching.
There is a small plastic clip inside the cover which appears to lodge in between the gimbal and the drone housing, but no actual way of fastening.
Is there something missing from my drone, as this is the first time that I've tried to replace the cover, but with zero success ?

Any help from someone with similar issues would be greatly appreciated.
2022-1-20
Use props
GaryDoug
First Officer
Flight distance : 1264639 ft
  • >>>
United States

You may be doing it backwards. Clip the top in first and then snap the bottom in. It is a bit brutal. Push it up with your thumb.
2022-1-20
Use props
Smurfy
lvl.1

New Zealand

Thanks Gary.  I'm putting the top in first (the end with the 2 catches), but the other end (the bottom) has nothing to latch onto. It just pops back out and falls off.
What mechanism is supposed to keep it in place ?
2022-1-20
Use props
AvroTrain
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1375318 ft
  • >>>
United States

Pictures with it very close to air2?
2022-1-22
Use props
Smurfy
lvl.1

New Zealand

Sorry AvroTrain, I do not understand what you are asking ?
2022-1-22
Use props
GaryDoug
First Officer
  • >>>
United States

Smurfy Posted at 1-20 22:54
Thanks Gary.  I'm putting the top in first (the end with the 2 catches), but the other end (the bottom) has nothing to latch onto. It just pops back out and falls off.
What mechanism is supposed to keep it in place ?

Here is a photo of mine. The narrow extension on the guard slips into the cavity on the drone body. Pardon the dust on the cover. I fired my housekeeper....in 1993 ;-)