Don't taint a possibly generation-winning product with SSD greed.
6664 17 2022-2-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djerk
lvl.1

United States

I'll tell you about my research of the DJI Ronin 4D.

Step 1:
I'm a small filmmaker and need a cinema camera.

Step 2:
DJI released a cine camera? Their drones are great, I'll look.

Step 3:
Full-frame 4K60? Cool!

Step 4:
Steadicam-like gimble? Awesome! This meets all my needs and it's affordable for me, the small filmmaker.
I'm going to pre-order one now!

Step 5:
RAW video only available with DJI's proprietary $800 1TB "proSSD"?
Order cancelled.

This will be the experience of many, many other small filmmakers who research the Ronin 4D.
The reason DJI locks RAW recording behind their $800 1TB "proSSD" rather than allowing it for all brands of SSD (like real cinema cameras eg. Sony FX6 do) is because SSDs are consumable items at the write-rates involved in cinema production. SSDs wear out when a lot of writes are performed on them. The "ProSSD" is a QLC SSD, meaning it will wear out MUCH faster than an enterprise-grade SLC SSD that costs 6x less. DJI did not release endurance information for the ProSSD, but if it is like other QLC SSDs, it should last for about 200TB of writes - if you fully fill the ProSSD 1TB 200 times, it will no longer work. It takes 36 minutes of shooting to fill the ProSSD 1TB with 6K RAW footage according to DJI. Do the math... it adds up to a lot of hidden costs for you on this "budget" cinema camera.

Roughly every 120 hours of 6K RAW recording with the DJI Ronin 4D will require you to buy another of DJI's ProSSDs for $800. Your camera requires you to pay DJI $6.67 per hour you use it to shoot 6K RAW footage. That's almost minimum wage.