3D models being drawn ~10m below ground level
3347 5 2022-5-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
TotalPave
lvl.1

Canada

I am new to 3D modelling using the Zenmuse P1 and Matrice 300 RTK.
In the example below, I'm collecting some test data on a small building using a Smart Oblique mission. The workflow summary is as follows:

- Setup and connect  to DRTK 2 base station
- Fly the mapping mission with M300 using a P1 with smart oblique on
- Process the raw imagery using ESRI Drone2Map (Pix4D with an ESRI skin)

The models themselves render fine, but when I turn on the base map I notice they are drawn about 10 or so meters into the ground. I didn't set ground control points because I'm not looking for cm level accuracy here, I figured that with the base station I would get within the ball park at least but that doesn't appear to be the case.

Any guidance or hints on where I'm messing up would be greatly appreciated.

Equipment:
- M300
- Zenmuse P1
- DRTK 2 Base Station
- ESRI Drone2Map
altitude2.jpeg
2022-5-9
Use props
patiam
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 1118740 ft
  • >>>
United States

Haven't used D2M but I'm a long time Pix4D user and hydrographic/terrestrial mapper.

Sounds like a vertical datum issue, probably an ellipsoid/geoid separation one (shifts like this usually are, unless they're small enough to be antenna offsets). Could have been introduced during acquisition or processing.

When you entered the coordinates for the D-RTK 2 before the survey, what vertical datum did you use for Z?

Also please describe your settings for the input and output coordinate system vertical datum in D2M.

2022-5-9
Use props
TotalPave
lvl.1

Canada

patiam Posted at 5-9 13:16
Haven't used D2M but I'm a long time Pix4D user and hydrographic/terrestrial mapper.