Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
flying over open water
924 28 2022-5-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
AJ squared away
lvl.3

United States

Has anyone had experience flying over open water ? Manual says avoid bodies of water but then it says keep aircraft at least 3 m above water . It would it be safe to fly and maintain 100 ft and above with vlos ( maybe barely ) ? I want to get some shots over water and have seen some good ones out there but don't want to drop it in .  
2022-5-19
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

would it be safe to fly and maintain 100 ft and above with vlos ( maybe barely ) ?
There is nothing about flying over water that's more risky than flying over land.
Mine has flown several thousand miles over open sea.
2022-5-19
Use props
Chris_Cain
lvl.2
Flight distance : 323337 ft
United States

I am a newbie drone pilot and the M3 is my first drone.  I am VERY cautious flying my M3 and wasn't sure how much I could trust it being new to the drone world but the more I fly the more I feel comfortable with it.  I've flown mine numerous times now over Lake Michigan and haven't had any issues to date.  I don't think I've gone lower than 50ft from the surface though as I've seen quite a few videos on YouTube about people having issues flying over water and don't want to risk anything yet until I fully understand why/what might be the culprit.  The people state in most of the videos that because of the reflective and translucent nature of the water that it plays havoc with the downward-facing sensors which makes sense to me.  They suggested turning off the obstacle avoidance to avoid any issues but that is why I've stayed above 50ft or so to avoid any possible problems since I'm not willing to test it with my drone.  The other day I was curious and I did turn the sensors off and brought the drone down to maybe 2ft off the water surface (I was ri