Uncontrolled ascent and descent over water
1245 16 2022-7-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans04398259
lvl.1
Flight distance : 94265 ft
United States

In two of my last three flights (May 23, May 1, March 31), I encountered behavior that I had not experienced before. Both times were over water. I have been flying since January 25, 2021 and have 141 flights flying over water almost all of the time. Today, when I took off, I was able to fly to the spot that I wanted to take photos (H17ft D124ft). After about 10 minutes of holding at altitude and taking photos, I began to change altitudes to get different perspectives. When I increased altitude, the drone continued climbing after I released the stick to the neutral position. I noticed that my altitude was -0.3ft even though I am sure that I was higher than 20ft. To stop the ascent, I had to press the stick to the descend position.
The drone started to descend and would not stop even with the stick in the neutral position. I had to press the stick to the ascend position to stop the drop. Although I was able to stabilize the altitude, this happened several times. I landed and then tried to repeat the flight. This time, altitude was at 20ft when I really was at 20ft. This behavior was observed today and on March 31. I can’t remember if it happened on May 1 or not.
At DJI’s recommendation, I calibrated compass and IMU. I went back to the spot where I had the problem today. The drone flew beautifully for the first 7 or so minutes. After that, I saw the altitude reading drop to negative numbers while the drone was flying at 20 or so feet. It started to exhibit the same bad behavior when ascending and descending (although it was better than this morning). The ascending and descending problem seemed to be associated with or was worse over water. But, the altitude was wrong when I was over land.
Remote calibrated.
Flight okay over water May 24.