New Air 2 - unable to upgrade firmware
1250 7 2022-7-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
frankhovin
lvl.1

Norway

I just bought a new Air 2, and after a day of messing around I'm ready to return it. It's just not possible to upgrade the firmware.

I did upgrade it once, in the app. But when I try to bind the controller to the drone, it claims that the firmware is outdated.
The app doesn't find any more updates, so nothing more to do that.

So I tried the DJI Assistant 2 application. That one doesn't even see the drone when I connect it to the PC.
NB! Please - no helpful answers about connecting the drone to a USB port, when and how to connect and turn it on etc. I'm a computer engineer.

No matter what I do, it won't see the drone. It only displays a message about how to connect Inspire 2, which has nothing to do with me at all.

And please - no suggestions about the drivers. The downloadable windows drivers from DJI are unsigned, and there is absolutely no way to install
them on any of my win10 machines, all of which are private and not restricted by anything other than MS. I've used the better part of a day to try
to disabled the unsigned drivers feature, and it simply cannot be done on my machines.

So, unless there is a way to solve this, I'm taking this 1000USD non-working thing back and getting a refund.

Anyone?

2022-7-13
Use props
frankhovin
lvl.1

Norway

Also, possibly the firmware isn't outdated, and the error is with the app or system. If I try to search for firmware updates in the app, it alternates between "server error" and "firmware is up-to-date".

But the problem remains in any case: It's not possible to bind the drone to the controller because it claims that the firmware is out-of-date.

Seriously. I really thought the DJI drones were quality devices. But as of now, this is an expensive POS that's soon on it's way back to the store.

2022-7-13
Use props
DowntownRDB
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 1722 ft
  • >>>
United States