Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Sell DSLR for drone?
731 6 2022-7-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CineDude
lvl.2

United Kingdom

Hi,

Let me preface this by saying I know this is a personal preference thing.

I'm not a pro photographer and I don't do this for money, and I know that to get back the equipment I'm thinking of selling will cost a small fortune to re-acquire in the future should I wish to do that. If I could keep my DSLR and buy a drone I would, but I also need to be realistic; I can only do one or the other.

I've used various types of "ground based" camera for the best part of 25 years, and never shied away from getting decent equipment (I'm not an equipment whore and have a modest set of equipment). I'm also a realist, and realized that it has been sat for a couple of years in a box being unused (the recent global events have had little impact in that regard). I actually thought I would have used it more, but the opposite appears to have happened.

I did use it briefly last weekend, and the results as usual were outstanding. I'm actually feeling a bit sad even contemplating letting it go, but I don't think it's going to survive sitting in a cupboard for 20 years. It needs to be used or sold.

I keep thinking of all the places I use it, and then think how I would use a drone in the same situation. I know the general public at large have been conditioned to think drones are evil and must be stopped anywhere they are sighted, but aside from visiting a few attractions/outdoor museums, most of my photography is out in the countryside. More than once have I thought how useful it would be to elevate the camera "just a bit" to get a better view.

Maybe this post would be better off on a more general photographic site, but given the people here use drones, I think this is the better place to ask for opinions.