Shutter Lag for Still Photos
3597 20 2022-7-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Wagonfreak
lvl.1
Australia

G'day,

I'm new to drone photography and have just purchases a M3P.  My main area of interest is in railroad/railway photography which normally includes a train moving at speed of anywhere from say 20-60MPH.  I have been used DSLR cameras for the past 20 years.  

On a few test flights yesterday, I was shooting in 48MP and found that the front of the train was being chopped off in my photos due to shuttler lag of 1-2 seconds.  

The image that momentarily freezes on the DJI RC shows me the correct image for when I press the photo button, but the actual image taken by the drone is seconds later.  IN all cases, the drone would be less than 100m from me.  

As I use my images for publication in magazines and reports, video capture isn't acceptable.

Any thoughts on how to remove this shutter lag?

Thanks

Chris
2022-7-26
Use props
Bussty
First Officer
Flight distance : 320951 ft
New Zealand

Hi Chris

There is some magic going on with 48MP mode where the drone is having to process what hits the sensor in some way to provide that higher resolution. Unfortunately that all takes time but I am convinced the added resolution is worth it.

I think it's kind of like a faster processor would make it faster but just don't have that luxury. I wonder if it's like the Pano mode where DJI Insist to process and remove access to other functions while it stitches the pano or whether it literally needs multiple dumps of data from the sensor so couldn't process it later even if we wanted it to?

Welcome to the hobby you are going to have a blast with the Mini 3 Pro  
2022-7-26
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

If that's true it's a very undesirable downside to the Mini 3.