Cloudy timelapse extension experiment
653 18 2022-8-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Hannibal_
lvl.4
Flight distance : 297126 ft
Netherlands

During the holiday I have been waiting for an opportunity to shoot some moving clouds timelapse.
But no clouds...

This morning I started flying the mini 2 and noted...

Clouds!

Quickly went back to retrieve the mini 3 and figured I wanted to try out something else too.
The extension function to add a second extra to the time selected.
Wow... that is a sweet function for timelapse (bare in mind I am a serious timelapse novice, hyperlapses are also on the list to try out).
In combination with the 30 second notification that the timelapse is almost done, that works wonderful.

I did some timelapses before but I never dared to select a duration that was longer than 5 seconds or so.
With the extension function you can really utilise what is left in the battery (still had 26% left though, daredevil me).
With 3/4 of a normal battery it resulted in a 19 second timelapse.

Nice and controllable.

Question: I used a 2 second interval in this one, would a longer interval make it more dramatic or just more stuttery and is drama more depending on the skies itself?

2022-8-30
Use props
Goggles Pisano
lvl.4
Flight distance : 8810745 ft
  • >>>
United States

You can practice time lapse using cell phone till you figure out best settings for you, its a lot less stressful...
2022-8-30
Use props
Mobilehomer
Second Officer
Flight distance : 18135846 ft
United States

If you notice, when you are selecting length, it shows the time to complete in the bar right above the selection. Then tap the battery status at the top to see time remaining until low battery landing. Make sure this time is about 3 minutes longer than time for picture taking. You can do a rough calculation using 25 frames per second of video.
This example is with Air 2S using 3 second interval. It took about 22 minutes air time.

2022-8-30
Use props
Beta5K
lvl.4