Can You Fly Sideways or Backwards with the Motion Controller?
5953 16 2022-10-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
shawn00m
lvl.2
Flight distance : 142425 ft
United States

I'm new to drone flying but one of the things that drew me to it was the cool angles and perspectives you can shoot with a drone. Like those shots that are looking straight down or scrolling sideways along a cliff or fence or something. I love the Avata and the motion controller is really easy to use, but, how do I take shots like those? Is there a way to fly sideways or backwards with the motion controller? Thanks for any advice or tips!

2022-10-10
Use props
SgtRay
Second Officer
Flight distance : 14860804 ft
United States

With the motion controller you can't go sideways or backwards. Sorry
2022-10-10
Use props
shawn00m
lvl.2
United States

SgtRay Posted at 10-10 11:23
With the motion controller you can't go sideways or backwards. Sorry

Thanks for the reply. I'm disappointed to hear that, especially since the Controller 2 appears to be out of stock everywhere. Thanks again!
2022-10-10
Use props
JiminMorris
lvl.2
Flight distance : 230 ft
United States

There is one way to accomplish this: enable head tracking in DJI Goggles 2.  Then the course of the drone is set by the Motion Controller, but the view of the camera is controlled by the position of your head.
2022-10-10
Use props
The Saint
First Officer
Flight distance : 5902228 ft
  • >>>
United States

any time you are flying forward, you can fly backwards in post production and unless there are obvious signs (like people walking backwards or cars going in reverse), no one will ever know.
2022-10-10
Use props
shawn00m
lvl.2
United States

JiminMorris Posted at 10-10 11:49
There is one way to accomplish this: enable head tracking in DJI Goggles 2.  Then the course of the drone is set by the Motion Controller, but the view of the camera is controlled by the position of your head.