Second Officer
Hungary

---DELETED---
2022-10-11
Use props
Daz79
lvl.1
Spain

I had high hopes for Action 2 but I was pretty disappointed. Even higher hopes for Action 3 and even more disappointed. It seems my GoPro 7 still need to work one more year before being retired.
2022-10-11
Use props
MarcoR
lvl.4
Flight distance : 316335 ft
Italy

As I commented in that video it is known that this focus system is performed manually in the action camera at the factory, the same thing happens on any FPV camera, where there is that ring to correct the focus, however thanks for the video that explains it to those who were not aware of it.
I believe that the question here is more complex.
I am not a photography expert but I believe that the problem may instead lie within the group of lenses, which are obviously fixed inside the block that is rotated.
Even achieving perfect focus for a distant enough subject if the lens group is poorly designed will result in a wrong focus at the 30cm declared by DJI.
This is because classic infinity focus necessarily generates this problem, and more you want to have a ultra wide FOV, and the Osmo Action 3 has it, more you will have focus problems in close subjects.
In my OA3 for example the distant subjects are in focus, but those at 50 cm absolutely not, and DJI declares at least 30 cm.
Having said that I do not rule out that DJI has some lens groups, which for example should be 7 in the Osmo Action, not perfectly calibrated or even just badly designed.
Therefore even by adjusting the ring by rotating it, the problem in close subjects may remain.
How is it resolved? With another well designed lens group and obviously at the correct distance from the sensor, so a firmware update cannot fix such a major hardware problem and perhaps unfortunately also by rotating the lens group.
In fact today many smartphones have more than one rear camera depending on the subject you want to shoot.