2773 12 2022-10-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ford4D
lvl.3
Flight distance : 7608 ft

United States

Hi everybody. This is my first time creating a new thread on the forum

DJI, I love your products. I love the Ronin 4D.

A lot of the clients I've been working for want vertical content for their socials. IG Reels, Tik Tok, YouTube Shorts, SnapChat, Spotify music videos, et cetera.

My solution for this currently is to set frame guides that show me where the crop will be, and to then just shoot at 6K.

It's an effective work around, but not perfect.

Pros:
•If the subject moves left or right out of "vertical frame", you can then easily re-frame them in post.
•Widescreen / YouTube / "Director's Cut" versions of the content can be easily made using the normally-discared "waste" parts of the image to the left and right.
•If you're creative, you can position different subjects in their own seperate "vertical frames" within the same shot, and cut between them in post (but they need to stay in their areas).

Cons:
•Re-framing in post a subject who moves out of the "vertical frame" tends to create a weird, unnatural "psuedo-pan" effect that is difficult to match with most framerates.
•Monitoring of the shot in progress is difficult, because the part of the image we care the most about is a very small on the monitor.
•Takes up a LOT of storage space (most of which is essentially "wasted").
•Basically forces you to shoot in 6K (or 4K with no room for errors).
•Not utilizing the image sensor to its full potential.
•With some lenses, this can leave you optically limited because you only get the middle strip (like if you want to fullly utilize the distortion effects on a very wide angle lens).

Thus, I'm hoping for something better. Hopefully something that uses the entire sensor to its full potential.

So what I'm proposing can be implemented one of two ways:

Option 1 (Most Ideal)