Perfect reason for drone flashlight
747 15 2022-11-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dark Horse
Second Officer
Flight distance : 175276 ft
United States

Roofs have been collapsing in Buffalo NY under 6' of wet snow load. I'm aware of at least 5 collapses, how many more roofs are damaged or compromised? I'm a builder who lives near Buffalo, I'll say that in 42 years we've never put up trusses or rafters rated for 5' of snow, typically they are rated for a 2' snow load. Five feet of snow, that's a LOT of weight, make that a wet snow, that's crazy heavy, add to that the fact that some older roofs may have as many as 3 layers of roofing, (some may have more, but that goes against code). None of these roofs were designed to handle that kind of load.
Now imagine being able to put a drone in the attic and fly through while filming, and having that flashlight be camera mounted so that wherever the camera points there is bright light on that spot. Instead of trying to crawl through the attic in person, risking a ceiling break through and disturbing, (compressing), the insulation, a drone could be used for a visual inspection of the rafters or trusses, looking for any signs of damage, cracks, breaks, things that may not be visible on the exterior, but would surely lead to problems after the NEXT heavy snowfall. And honestly, the smaller the drone, the better. Something smaller than the original mini would be more suited for this kind of work. Less prop wash, more maneuverable.Those are just my thoughts on the matter. Any comments?
2022-11-23
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

imagine being able to put a drone in the attic and fly through while filming
You are likely to have problems getting GPS in the roof space and there's no chance if there's snow on top of the roof.
The surface below is unlikely to be suitable for VPS or the lighting good enough.